Fall-ing in Love

Fall is my favorite timeFalling Leaves of year.  The cooler winds and changing foliage brings with it loads of harvest foods and gusts of tantalizing baking spices.  Since my 6th month of pregnancy, I have been walking instead of running in the mornings to keep myself and baby healthy.  I have learned to enjoy the slower pace and to soak in the beauty of this season.

One day while strolling down the trail path at the nearby park, the breeze gently broke off leaf stems from nearby trees.  As the multi-colored leaves dropped to the floor, I thought about how much grace was present in their last descent.  One by one, the aged leaves danced their last dance while twirling and sashaying peacefully to the floor.  They served their purpose well this year and it was time for them to rest.  This reminded me of the verse from Ecclesiastes 3:1 (ESV):

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven.

When I walk, B reminds meleaves on the floor to always look at the ground and to keep my toes up so that I avoid falling on my face.  His concerns are not entirely unwarranted given that I tripped over my own feet two months ago and had to be led hobbling home with two sorry knees.  In the fall, the trail path is carpeted with the leaves of nearby trees.  The vibrant colors that decorate the floor reminded me of confetti.  It was as if the trees decided to throw a big party in celebration of a year well done.  The remnants of their festivities made me smile.  Plus, I get to make crunchy noises while I walk through the forest.

At the moment, my life path is leading me towards a junction with divergent crossroads.  I am still learning to be a wife and to be a teacher.  Both these roles and callings are new for me (having practiced for about 1.5 years now).  I am just starting to learn how to be a daughter-in-law and will soon be learning how to be a mother.  For many weeks, the combination (or collision) of these roles have been daunting to me.  Can I fulfill them all?  Do I continue to pursue them all?  Some are without options as to whether I will persevere in them, but my career direction is one that may be redirected.  But this is the season that the Lord has provided and I pray that I rejoice in the matters that He wisely gives.

2 thoughts on “Fall-ing in Love

Leave a Reply

