Why do birds suddenly appear…

…every time, I look up.

That’s what baby girl will be thinking when she sees her mobile.  Yesterday, I completed one of the longest baby projects I have worked on thus far.  This project evolved over the hours and days that I spent on it and I am truly pleased with how it turned out.  I will be sure to post a more flattering picture of the final product when we have the crib bed and linen in place.

THE (evolving) STEPS:

The mobile began with felt birds.  I found a pattern on Pinterest that led me to an image that I enlarged to the size that suited this project.  I cut out neutral browns and creams for the different parts of the body.  Following the directions, I first attached wings and stitched in eyes.  I used thick embroidery thread so that the different stitches I placed on the wings would be more visible.  Then began the long arduous process of hand stitching each bird together inside out, turning it right-side out, stuffing it with fluff, sealing up the tail, and stitching on a beak.  The original pattern said to attach a small triangular orange piece of felt for the beaks, but I wanted to use up some orange embroidery thread.   birdiescutout  pilesofbirdpatterns

I made six birds in total, three that are lighter in color and three that are darker brown with white striped heads (I call them the skunk birds).  The day I finished all six, I made B hold them in his sweater when he got home.  When he asked why six, I explained that the number symbolized how many children we would have (plus us).  He would prefer to stick with two kiddos whereas I am open to whatever God wants to give us (at least for now – we’ll see after I give birth to the first one).

birdies

bholdingbirds

After exploring the Pinterest and Etsy world a little more to gain inspiration, I also made three clouds.  Two of which are visible in this picture against the sky blue of B’s pajama pants.

clouds

Now I originally intended to use a grapevine wreath for the ring that I attach the birds too.  However, after thinking about safety measures, B and I both decided that it would be rather unsafe if the mobile ever fell and all the twisty spiky vines landed on baby.  We went to Joann’s and looked at our options.  We thought about getting foam rings typically used for floral arrangements, but we decided to go with a thinner option.  The embroidery hoop (9″ diameter) we found was the answer for us and all I had to do was find a way to cover the metal screw…

flowercrochet

attachingflowersleaves

That led to the next evolution in my design, which was to crochet flowers (to cover up the metal screw) and leaves that would be wound to the hoop with yarn.  While I am a true beginner when it comes to crocheting, Youtube searches for “crochet flowers” and “crochet leaves” were extremely helpful.  I just watched the videos intently with my crochet hook in one hand and yarn in the other.  These tutorials are so much easier to follow than guides I find in how-to-crochet books.

On a not-too-busy Saturday, B and I went to Pottery Barn Kids to look at mobile arms.  We found that the espresso one would match the crib nicely but the store was out of stock!  Thankfully, we were able to order it from the store online with waived shipping (yay!) and to  use our 15% of “recent” mover’s coupon on top of that (double yay!).

Once I was able to determine about how far the mobile would need to dangle above baby to be safe, I stitched strings to the birdies and clouds and hung those first from the hoop so that the strings would be covered by the yarn later.  Then I wrapped yarn around the entire hoop and attached the flowers and leaves in sets of three.

birdsandclouds

insidemobileringTA-DA!  Here is the mobile in a fuzzy picture that as promised earlier would be updated with a better one at a future point in time.

finishedmobile

From the initial inspiration, through the obstacles / time consuming work in between, and to the concluding touches, I found myself so immersed and entangled in the creative process I once used to enjoy on a daily basis.  Returning to that state of mind was refreshing and I look forward to more of it.  I am so thankful for a husband who encourages me throughout my work as well.  His input and feedback made the work even more worthwhile.

When I reflected upon the design, I thought of the Bible verses about the birds of the air and the flowers of the field:

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.”

Matthew 6:25-29

God is good and I hope that I get to impart that beautiful understanding to baby.

Leave a Reply

